PRRS 2020/2021

The International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) Technical Committee 7 (TC-7 Remote Sensing – organizes the 11th IAPR International Workshop on Pattern Recognition in Remote Sensing (PRRS 2020/2021). This workshop is held in conjunction with the International Conference on Pattern Recognition (ICPR 2020) ( The workshop is sponsored by IAPR and International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS).

Aims and Scope

As one of the flagship events of the International Association for Pattern Recognition, Pattern Recognition in Remote Sensing Workshop serves as an event bringing together researchers from both pattern recognition and remote sensing, with emphasis on the application of pattern recognition methods to remotely sensed data. The steady progress in the development of new remote sensing devices and remote sensing technology has led to ever increasing data and new challenges. Thus, need arises to apply the latest methods of machine learning and pattern recognition for automated analysis of this kind of data. This workshop will provide an ideal forum for spreading and exchanging the latest experiences of international researchers. Topics might be related to a large range of topics, including, but not limited to:
– Hyperspectral and multispectral image analysis
– Extraction, selection, learning, and reduction of features
– Deep learning for Earth observation data
– Clustering
– Active and transfer learning
– Multi-modal and multi-temporal analysis
– Image analysis of SAR and airborne thermal data
– Recognition of man-made objects from aerial and space platforms
– Novel pattern recognition tasks in remote sensing applications
– Technical reviews on related topics

Submission guidelines

Authors are invited to submit full papers (12-15 pages), written in English and formatted according to the Springer LNCS templates and the ICPR workshop submission guidelines. Templates are available for download from this link. Papers are to be submitted using the dedicated submission platform on this workshop website. All manuscripts will be subject to a single-blind review process. Accepted papers that were presented at the workshop are considered for possible publication in Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series. By submitting a manuscript, the authors guarantee that it has not been previously published or accepted for publication in substantially similar form. Furthermore, no paper which contains significant overlap with the contributions of this paper either is under review at the moment of submission, or will be submitted during the review period to any other conference, workshop or journal. A special issue associated to this workshop is planned later on.

Templates (please note the paper format differs from the main conference): Word/Latex Templates

Submission website:

Call for Papers

Please download the call for papers here.

Important Dates

Please note: Given the COVID-19 situation in Italy and all over the globe, ICPR2020 is shifted to 10-15 January 2021.

Workshop submission deadline: October 10, 2020 (October 17, 2020)
Workshop author notification: November 10, 2020
Camera-ready submission: November 15, 2020
Finalized workshop program: December 1, 2020
Workshop (half-day): January 10, 2021 (ONLINE EVENT)


Ribana Roscher, University of Bonn, Germany
Gabriele Cavallaro, FZ Jülich, Germany
Jie Shan, Purdue University, USA
Eckart Michaelsen, Fraunhofer-IOSB, Germany
Uwe Stilla, Technische Universitaet Muenchen, Germany

Program Committee

Selim Aksoy, Bilkent University, Turkey
John Ball, Mississippi State University, USA
Jón Atli Benediktsson, University of Iceland, Iceland
Lorenzo Bruzzone, University of Trento, Italy
Jocelyn Chanussot, Grenoble Institute of Technology, France
David Clausi, University of Waterloo, Canada
Melba Crawford, Purdue University, USA
Fabio Dell’Acqua, University of Pavia, Italy
Jenny Q. Du, Mississippi State University, USA
Paolo Gamba, University of Pavia, Italy
Surya Durbha, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India
Xiangyun Hu, Wuhan University, China
Michael Kampffmeyer, University of Tromsø, Norway
John Kerekes, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
Sébastien Lefèvre, Université de Bretagne Sud / IRISA, France
Peijun Li, Peking University, China
Helmut Mayer, Bundeswehr University Munich, Germany
Farid Melgani, University of Trento, Italy
Gabriele Moser, University of Genoa, Italy
Antonio Plaza, University of Extremadura, Italy
Franz Rottensteiner, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany
Michael Schmitt, DLR Munich, Germany
Xiaohua Tong, Tongji University, China
Devis Tuia, Wageningen University and Research, Netherlands
Michele Volpi, Swiss Data Science Center, Switzerland
Björn Waske, University of Osnabrueck, Germany
Jan Dirk Wegner, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Martin Weinmann, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Lexie Yang, Oak Ridge National Laboratoy, USA
Xuezhi Yang, University of Waterloo, Canada
Alper Yilmaz, Ohio State University, USA